RSS

Monday’s Dinner – Corned Beef

30 Jan

This is a traditional favourite according to the marketing people at Lite ‘n’ Easy so let’s see if they’re correct.  Monday’s dinner consisted of the corned beef.

A traditional favourite.

A traditional favourite.

This was prepared in my microwave at home so the cooking time of 8 minutes was correct.

Corned Beef

Corned Beef

This looks a little suss but trust me, this is the real deal.  As always, they’ve got the meat and vegetables in the familiar layout.  There’s a small scoop of mashed potato up in the top right and heaps of peas and carrots as well as some cauliflower.  I can’t fault any of this – these vegetables are made for freezing.

As you can see, there’s heaps of white sauce so it’s best to use the vegetables and mash to grab all that sauce.  My only complaint with the sauce was that its texture was a little powdery at first.  Mixing it with the other stuff removed that powdery sensation.  It’s not as tangy as the white-sauces I remember but it’s more-or-less balanced.

The gem of the dish, however, is the corned beef.  They’ve slapped in a fair amount and it came out soft and juicy and tasty.  I didn’t think corned beef would freeze but they’ve managed here.

3.5 out of 5 thumbs.  I would get this one again.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 30, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment