RSS

Friday’s Lunch – Tandoori Chicken

19 Feb

On Friday, I had Tandoori Chicken for lunch.  I love a good Indian dish so I figured I’d try this one.  It’s another World Classic so let’s see how it eats.

Tandoori Chicken

Tandoori Chicken

The picture on the packet and the Lite ‘n’ Easy website never really grabbed me.  I think the yellow cauliflower turned me off.  I don’t mind cauliflower but the colouring (probably turmeric) doesn’t work for me.

After cooking it in the work microwave for 9 minutes, I get this…

Tandoori Chicken

Tandoori Chicken

I reckon they’ve just slapped into much cauliflower.  You can see there’s plenty there.  I don’t know how cucumber freezes but that or capsicum would’ve added a little more variety to dish.  Soy beans… yeah, I can handle that and then there’s some rice.  They have, however, put in a fair amount chicken.

My gripe with this dish is there’s just not enough tandoori sauce.  I know it’s more of a dry curry, but a little more would’ve just made the meal feel more satisfying especially as the tandoori chicken is really just chicken in a a bit of tandoori.  I’ve made something similar before, but I needed to either grill or BBQ the marinade onto the chicken which isn’t the case here.

I’ll give this a 3 out of 5 thumbs.  I’d rather head down to the local Indian restaurant.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 19, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Friday’s Lunch – Tandoori Chicken

  1. Sidney

    October 4, 2013 at 4:48 AM

    They’re broad beans not soy beans

     

Leave a comment