RSS

Thursday 7th February’s Dinner – Homestyle Macaroni Cheese

19 Feb

On Thursday the other week, I decided to try the first meat-free dish – Homestyle Macaroni Cheese.  I don’t know, but I’ve always loved meat so I was sceptical but I ended up really impressed with this dish.  If you love cheesy macaroni, you’ll definitely love this one.  Just be aware, it’s not like the four-minute packet macaroni cheese you buy from Colesworth, it’s much more authentic.

Homestyle Macaroni Cheese

Homestyle Macaroni Cheese

After 7 minutes in the Panasonic, this is what comes out…  If I recall, this dish really should’ve been in for another 30 seconds, even on my Panasonic.  Nothing was frozen but the top left was just warm.  It did feel cooked through but I’ll double-check the temperature again next time.

Homestyle Macaroni Cheese

Homestyle Macaroni Cheese

I reckon with minimal styling, some studio lighting and a decent camera and lens, you could easily make the contents of the packet look like what’s on the picture.

Firstly, this has got plenty of cheese.  I don’t know how Lite ‘n’ Easy got so much cheese and sauce into a meal that contains fewer than 2000kj.  There’s plenty of pasta and to just add a little extra flavour, there are three tomato slices.  The tomato cooked OK without going soggy.  Similarly, the pasta was OK except for small warm area. The pasts didn’t go hard as it looks like it’s been covered with all that cheese and sauce.  If you like the flavour of the Kraft stuff, you’ll find this isn’t as salty and hasn’t go that artificial tangy cheese flavour.  I reckon Lite ‘n’ Easy have found a solid recipe and modified it only slightly to suit the concept of delivering frozen meals to households.

Yes, I will get this again but not for the next order.  I will be getting some of the other meat-free dishes.

4 out of 5 thumbs.  Great work.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 19, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment