RSS

Tuesday 5th of February’s Dinner – Sweet & Sour Chicken

19 Feb

Again, I apologise for the delays in bringing you these taste tests.  However, the other week I had the Sweet & Sour Chicken.  I remember originally I did really want to try this but for the exercise, I ended up ordering this item from Lite ‘n’ Easy’s World Classics range.

Sweet & Sour Chicken

Sweet & Sour Chicken

I think the picture on the packet looks quite appetising but after cooking for the recommended 8 minutes, I got this…

Sweet & Sour Chicken

Sweet & Sour Chicken

What Lite ‘n’ Easy have got here is a generous portion of what is fried rice on the right.  You can see in the middle is some chicken but there’s also a little more under than sauce.  Overall, it doesn’t too bad.  But I have to pull up the sauce on this review.  It just didn’t taste like sweet ‘n’ sour sauce.  I can’t really describe the flavour but if you’re looking for that rich tang of the sour and the sweet, delicious pineapple flavour, you won’t find it here.  The sauce tastes like savoury-type sauce.  It’s nothing like what you’d find at the local Chinese restaurant.

I feel that maybe I just got a dodgy batch and the cook just forgot to throw in some “tang” or he/she just had a crappy day cooking this batch.  To be fair, what I might do is order this again either this week or next and try again.  Would I get this again otherwise?  Probably not, especially with butter chicken coming out.  I will get the butter chicken this week and check it out.

For the meantime, I’ll give the Sweet & Sour Chicken a 3 out of 5 thumbs.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 19, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment