RSS

Australia Day Dinner – Chicken & Satay Sauce

28 Jan

Australia Day was Saturday the 26th.  Unfortunately, my dietary intake on this day was not really my most healthiest.  I headed down to the Kiama Show and got stuck into a sausage sandwich for breakfast.  Morning tea consisted of a Dagwood Dog and a beer.  Lunch consisted of the same.  After lunch, I made my way to the bowlo to meet up with a mate so there were plenty of beers and also half a pizza consumed that afternoon.

I don’t remember what time I got home but I decided to crack open a Chicken & Satay Sauce meal.

Chicken & Satay Sauce

Chicken & Satay Sauce

I can tell you, this looks pretty tasty and really healthy after a day of eating and drinking crap.  After 8 minutes in the microwave, I peeled back the lid and got this…

Chicken & Satay Sauce

Chicken & Satay Sauce

Hmm.  There ain’t much sauce there but I reckon to keep the kilojoules down, they’ve had to crack down on the sauce.  Still, the sauce did have a mild peanut flavour and had the consistency you’d expect.  There’s plenty of stir-fry vegetables included and the chicken was cooked through perfectly.

Overall, I was pleased with this dish but it didn’t knock my socks off.  I reckon this would be better suited to a lunch meal.

3 out 5 thumbs.  I probably would get it again but with so many other dishes to choose from, this sits a little lower on my list of favourites.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment