RSS

Thursday’s Dinner – Ummm, what did I have?

18 Jan

OK, yesterday after work I was down at the pub and I was down there probably a little longer than I wanted.  I got home and I did have a Lite ‘n’ Easy dinner but I forget which one.  Please wait while I look through my phone camera roll…

Oh, that’s right it was Cottage Pie.

I will try and find where my photos are and report on the dish at a later stage.

In the meantime, please check out my other posts!

Update: I found the images I needed for this post.  Here’s the meal in it’s original packet.

Cottage Pie

Cottage Pie

This looks pretty tasty.  In this case, it requires 9 minutes of microwave action.  Let’s see how it comes out…

Cottage Pie straight outta da microwave.

Cottage Pie straight outta da microwave.

OK, so one tha pack, there’s a boat-shaped dish.  I can confirm, this particular meal DOES NOT come with that dish.  Hmmm.

Oh well, let’s tuck in.

On the right, there’re plenty of peas, a piece cauliflower and a squishy piece of pumpkin.  The cauliflower did a cheesy sauce over it which was welcome.  The peas?  You can;t go wrong.  The pumpkin was a little soft but it was near the 3cm opening.  OK, OK, I confess, I may have had a 4cm opening.  Lite ‘n’ Easy specify a 3cm opening.

Over to the actual pie…  To be honest, this was more like a Lancashire Hotpot in that is used slices of potato with a saucy beef mince.  The cheese up on the top was excellent.  They did not skimp on the cheese.  But I felt the beef filling and potato just didn’t have enough depth of flavour.  Admittedly, I don’t think I’ve ever had cottage pie before but the potato instantly reminded me of the Lancashire Hotpot I make which is rich with Worcestershire Sauce.  This just didn’t have that flavour.  But overall, it was a good dish – it just wasn;t what I expected.

Would I get it again?  Yes, but I would order some other dishes in a ten-dinner order before this.

3 out of 5 thumbs for this one.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 18, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment