RSS

Today’s Lunch – Curried Beef Sausage (Wednesday)

16 Jan

For lunch today I decided between the Porcupines or the Curried Beef Sausage.  The sausages won. I’ve never had this one before because I thought I wouldn’t like curried sausage but, as per usual, I was surprised in how tasty it was.  Here is the skinny on the sausage.

119 Curried Beef Sausage

119 Curried Beef Sausage

 

The dish called for 9 minutes in the microwave but I stuck it in for 10 minutes neat.  It came out perfectly heated through and after removing the lid, I found this…

119 Curried Beef Sausage

119 Curried Beef Sausage

The curry sauce had a much richer yellow colour than it appears in this photo taken with my Nokia Lumia 920.  I think it must be turmeric or something like that.  The sauce was not overpowering and it certainly wasn’t burn-your-arse-off spicy.  It had a just a hint of kick which is good.

The sausage was cut into pieces as shown in the picture on the box.  The sausage appeared to contain lean meat and was a firm but a little bland.  It wasn’t completely flavourless but the curry sauce definitely is needed.  Also, the little piece of sausage in the bottom left was a little rubbery.  Maybe this was because it wasn’t covered in the curry sauce during cooking.

To complete the dish, the bangers are complimented with mash potato and carrots and beans – standard fare.

I’ve never been big on curried sausages but I did like this and would get it again.  However, it would be a little lower on the list than some of the my favourites.

3.5 out of 5 thumbs.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 16, 2013 in Food

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment